“flying fish”

There are so many instances in my life when I allow myself to get in a space of low self esteem, woe-is-me, self-pity, pathetic down-on-life kinda moments, especially with regards to my work. This little sketch is a self affirmation reminding me that ‘flying is worth the risk.’ I grew up with a fear of punishment for initial failure (this is why perfectionism is a liability), and still struggle with that sometimes.

I really take to heart a particular moment in grad school (thank you, Middle Eastern and North African Studies 405: Islamic Art & Architecture) when I learned about Islamic artists, and how their practice differs from Western artists.

We all want to know: why can’t we depict Muhammad’s image by drawing or painting him?

This practice is in keeping with the tradition held in much of the Muslim world that forbids creating images of God or the prophets (and generally creating images of human beings, animals, and Creation in general) to be exclusively the domain of the Divine. However, this in no way discouraged the flourishing of the arts, for it gave rise to a culture deeply invested in the creation of design, art and architecture by means of mathematical and geometric beauty.

A stunning example of this is found in the blue mosque of Iran, which utilizes a combination of colors, design, and light to create a kaleidoscope effect and gives the viewer an exuberantly majestic glimpse of the eternal. This “sub-creating” by replicating life as it is seen around us defined by the tradition of Western art, and the other which magnifies the inner workings of life through the ordered patterns of design (Islamic art), typify my attitude when I work.

Islam, I think, would express this interaction between God and human as a striving for “excellence”, encompassing all that is worthwhile in learning, art, science, and achievement in any human field as flowing back to and reflecting the glory of God. As I continue with my artwork, that is exactly what I have to remind myself: “happy learning journey!”

Leave a comment