“recklessness”

Maslow’s hierarchy of needs and conventional wisdom both suggest that love is a fundamental human need. Most people fish for their significant other through social circles or work or school or travel. These pools can sometimes be shallow, and even scary. In the search for a partner or for true love, some people switch to hookup aps. Judgement of each other is based on trusting that that image or the description will be somewhat accurate.

If I had done this whole online dating thing, here would be my hidden crocodiles that I might not be so likely to disclose! I often think about how my own dating profile would look, but then realize it’s literally the same as self-branding as a designer. The difference between life before the internet and life WITH the internet, is that now the human psyche is split, and we are forced to commodify ourselves like products. We literally ARE the marketplace.

Leave a comment